What happens when I disconnect?
Jonathan Sprinkle, 20 Dec 2006
Last updated: 16 Apr 2007
When you disconnect from the newton.eecs machine, your session will stay active. Implications of this are:
- You are still logged in to newton.eecs. To logout, choose that option from the "Start" menu
- Your status is "disconnected" (not "active") in the administrator browser
- Your screen is locked (on newton.eecs)
- If you disconnect, and reconnect immediately, you will see the same screen, just as if you had locked and then immediately unlocked your laptop or desktop
- If you reconnect from a different machine, you will see the same screen as when you disconnected. This holds as long as newton.eecs stays up, and you do not log out.
- All programs which you had open will remain open. This excludes programs which may have an automatic logout or quit function after some time (e.g., a timeout on an SSH session).
disconnect your session without saving all of your files
, or being prepared to restore them by restarting your simulation. Generally, if you are doing long simulations, you should save snapshots as you go. The admins will only contact active users before restarting or halting the machine.